Northern California's Largest VW Enthusiasts Group

HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 

Surfboards and VW's Let's see yours!

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
justcruzin

PostSubject: Surfboards and VW's Let's see yours!   Sun Aug 26, 2012 11:54 pm

I put this on the Samba but I figured I would put it here too to catch anyone that isn't on the Samba or only goes to particular areas of it. I would like to see and hear about your surfboards mounted to your VW. What ever VW you have.

I am just getting started in carrying surfboards on my VW's and am looking for a good mounting system. I am mainly going to carry them for displays, but do want to try my hand at paddle boarding, so eventually will be carrying my newly acquired board on my bus or my bug. Here are a couple pics of my VW's and my boards!

That dirty one at the far right is my first board I bought. I bought it down the street at a yard sale. We didn't have room in the car so I ended up walking it home. Kept asking the neighbors if they new where the ocean was? LOL

Same boards against my 64.

Bought this windsurf board at a swap meet for 5 bucks! Just the board, it is missing everything from sail to fins, but for 5 bucks I could easily make it a paddle board.

One of the boards just sitting on my bug. Still need to figure out brackets or straps to hold it on.

My newest board. Another windsurf board. This one has it's middle retractable fin, but is missing the other rear fin. This one will be my learner board as it is 11' long and about 2'3" wide.

Here it is on my bus rack. Again, I still need to figure out how to strap it down. I read in one of my searches about Dakine straps. I'm going to go look for some of those tomorrow.

Another thing, how do you carry your board? Fins forward (at front of car) or fins backward (at back of car)? I read somewhere from a true surfer said the correct way to carry a board is fins forward.

Let's see what you have!!