Norcal Vdubs

Northern California's Largest VW Enthusiasts Group

HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in

Share | 

What should I look for when buying a used motor?!?!

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
LuvnVdubn

PostSubject: What should I look for when buying a used motor?!?!   Fri Jun 22, 2012 10:22 pm

Whats up guys! I am in the market for a Long Block or complete 1600dp motor since I blew mine a couple weeks ago. If I was going to get one from a fellow NorCalVdubber than I wouldn't be too worried about getting ripped off. However I found a guy on Craigslist that has what he says is not so pretty but running motor. I could careless about how dirty it is. I just can't afford to spend what little money I have on another boat anchor!

Whats the most important things to check when I go check out this or any other motor? I mean, I have plenty of knowledge in cars and motors, sh-t I graduated from WyoTech, but I figure it never hurts to ask the OG V-Dubbers their opinions! No schooling can give you the knowledge of experience, ya know!!! I already told the guy I will be pulling the heads to check for cracks before I hand over any $$.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Mateo
Admin

PostSubject: Re: What should I look for when buying a used motor?!?!   Sat Jun 23, 2012 12:24 am

Leak down test / compression check.

Excessive end play.

Turn the motor over in both directions and feel for any kind of play.

Signs of extreme heat.

Oil leaks.

I dunno, some thoughts...

- '69 Karmann Ghia Coupe - May(hem) - "WIKED KG" Super Street
- '69 Drag Ghia - Kay(os) -"Wicked Sister"
- Still looking for a low light
Back to top Go down
View user profile
west coast ghia
SacTown

PostSubject: Re: What should I look for when buying a used motor?!?!   Sat Jun 23, 2012 12:58 am

run and in a car

next..........
1962 11 window bus (nameless)
http://www.norcalvdubs.com/t1467p15-1962-11-window-split

Lonny
Back to top Go down